Congregation honors seven students Friday night

     The entire community is invited to the Hebrew Congregation's annual Martin Luther King Jr. Awards service at 6:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 12, at the Synagogue.
     In tribute to the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., the seven high schools on St. Thomas select a student whom the synagogue honors for best exemplifying the biblical mandate "justice, justice shall you pursue" (Deuteronomy 16:20). They are chosen because they demonstrate a commitment to social action in the spirit of Dr. King through projects and activities that benefit the local community and the world.
     This year's recipients are Nicole Wheatley of Antilles School; Amber Richards, All Saints School; Kerish Robles, Charlotte Amalie High School; Robelynn Green, Ivanna Eudora Kean High School; Kearil Abraham, Ss. Peter and Paul School; Acef Henry, St. Thomas-St. John Seventh-day Adventist School; and Aldrin Rey, Wesleyan Academy.
     Each student will be presented with a $500 U.S. Savings Bond and a copy of the book "Shared Dreams: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Jewish Community" by Rabbi Marc Schneier.
     The service includes special guest speaker Rabbi David Wolfman, director of the Northeast Council of the Union of Reform Judaism.
     A reception will follow the service.